HPSG 2007

The 14th International Conference on
Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar

20-22 July 2007

Hosted by the Stanford Department of Linguistics and CSLI's LinGO Lab

In conjunction with the 2007 LSA Linguistic Institute

Stanford Arcade

Invited Speakers (Main Conference):

Danièle Godard (U Paris 7)
Christopher Manning (Stanford U)

Invited Speakers (Workshop on Constructions and Grammatical Theory):

Adele Goldberg (Princeton U)
Stefan Müller (U Bremen)
Ivan A. Sag (Stanford U)

Call for Papers

Abstracts are solicited for 20 minute presentations (followed by 10 minutes of discussion) which address empirical, foundational, or computational issues relating to the framework of Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar.


We invite online submissions of abstracts for presentations which should consist of two parts:

  1. a separate information page in plain text format, containing
    • author name(s)
    • affiliation(s)
    • e-mail and postal address(es)
    • title of paper
  2. an extended abstract of not more than 5 (five) pages, including all figures and references. Abstracts should be in PDF format.

We will use an online subscription system. All abstracts should be submitted via http://www.easychair.org/HPSG07 (Please direct any questions to the Program Committee Chair: stefan.mueller@cl.uni-bremen.de).

Abstracts for the main conference should mention 'HPSG-07' and abstracts for the workshop should mention 'Workshop-07' in the subject line. All abstracts will be reviewed anonymously by at least two reviewers. Authors are asked to avoid self-references in the abstracts. The Program Committee reserves the right to reassign accepted papers from the main conference to the workshop, and vice versa.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline:March 1, 2007
Notification of acceptance: April 15, 2007
Conference: July 20–22, 2007


The conference proceedings will be published online by CSLI publications. A call for contributions to the publications will be issued after the conference. Proceedings of previous conferences are available at http://csli-publications.stanford.edu/HPSG/. The final deadline for receipt of written versions of conference papers is October 15, 2007.

Program Committee for the Conference

Doug Arnold (Essex), Emily Bender (Washington), Olivier Bonami (Paris), Ann Copestake (Cambridge), Berthold Crysmann (Saarbrücken), Daniel Flickinger (Stanford), Jong-Bok Kim (Kyung-Hee), Tibor Kiss (Bochum), Robert Levine (Ohio State), Detmar Meurers (Ohio State), Stefan Müller (Bremen; chair), Tsuneko Nakazawa (Tokyo), Gerald Penn (Toronto), Adam Przepiórkowski (Warsaw), Ivan A. Sag (Stanford; workshop co-convener), Jesse Tseng (LORIA, Nancy), Frank Van Eynde (Leuven), Gertjan van Noord (Groningen), Gert Webelhuth (Göttingen; workshop co-convener), Stephen Wechsler (Texas).

Conference Web Site


Submission Web Site


Maintained by Ivan A. Sag and Stefan Müller.